Senior Scoop for October 2020

published October 5, 2020

 South Sioux City Community Schools

    Senior Scoop October 5, 2020

From the Counseling Office 

    Linda Swanson,Last names A-E linda.swanson@ssccards.org

    Jason Craig, Last names F-Ln jason.craig@ssccards.org

    Danielle Panowicz,  Last names Lo-Q danielle.panowicz@ssccards.org

    Steph Hames, Last names R-Z steph.hames@ssccards.org 

    Tammy Aitken, Office Secretary  tammy.aitken@ssccards.org

 

 

The following colleges or military representatives will hold virtual meetings in the Counseling Office:

  • Chadron State College = 1:00pm on October 7th and 8th

  • Northeast Community College = 1:00pm on October 12th and 15th

  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln = 1:00pm on October 13th and 21st

  • Briar Cliff = 1:00pm on October 19th and 20th

  • Nebraska Wesleyan = 1:00pm on October 27th and 28th

If you would like to attend any of these virtual meetings, please contact your counselor or Mrs. Aitken.  

 

The deadlines for the following scholarships are quickly approaching:

Horatio Alger Scholarship = October 26, 2020  https://scholars.horatioalger.org/  

Rural Law Opportunities Program (RLOP) = Due December 1, 2020  https://www.wsc.edu/rlop

Rural Health Opportunities Program (RHOP) = Due December 1, 2020   https://www.wsc.edu/rhop

 

 

PLEASE CONTINUE TO CHECK FOR NEW SCHOLARSHIP LISTINGS!

http://www.ssccardinals.org/schools/high-school/departments/guidance-scholarships 

 

 

The FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) will be available on October 1, 2020, at www.fafsa.ed.gov.  Both student and parent will need an FSA ID if you do not have one.  To apply for the FSA ID, go to www.fsaid.ed.gov.  

 

 

Last day of Trimester 1 is Friday, November 6th.  Trimester 2 will begin on Monday, November 9th.  

 

 

October  “To Do” List

Seniors ... complete these college planning tasks during October:

__ Apply to your top college choices

__ Make sure you are passing your classes

__ Create an FSA ID for you and one for a parent at fsaid.ed.gov.

__ Complete the FAFSA

__ Set up college visits for those you are interested in attending

__ Register for the December ACT before November 6, 2020 

 

 

Stop in the Counseling Office if you have any questions.  You can also email your counselor.

.