Senior Scoop for September 2020

published September 1, 2020

South Sioux City Community Schools

    Senior Scoop September 1, 2020

From the Counseling Office 

    Linda Swanson,Last names A-E linda.swanson@ssccards.org

    Jason Craig, Last names F-Ln jason.craig@ssccards.org

    Danielle Panowicz,  Last names Lo-Q danielle.panowicz@ssccards.org

    Steph Hames, Last names R-Z steph.hames@ssccards.org

    Tammy Aitken, Secretary, tammy.aitken@ssccards.org

  @SSCHSGuidance  follow us on Twitter for more updates

  REMIND App = Class Name = Class Of 2021, Class Code = @3cb78h

   Google Classroom for Class of 2021 = join with Google

 

 

Apply2College Week = September 21-24, 2020  

5th and 6th periods in the library during that week to help seniors apply to colleges

*Swanson students = Monday, September 21

*Panowicz students = Tuesday, September 22

*JCraig students = Wednesday, September 23

*Hames students = Thursday, September 24

 

 

The deadlines for the following scholarships are quickly approaching:

Horatio Alger Scholarship = October 26, 2020  https://scholars.horatioalger.org/  

Rural Health Opportunities Program (RHOP) = Due December 1, 2020   https://www.wsc.edu/rhop

Rural Law Opportunities Program (RLOP) = Due December 1, 2020  https://www.wsc.edu/rlop

 

 

ACT Date = October 6, 2020, Seniors will take the ACT

If you are interested in taking another ACT this school year, please visit with your counselor.

 

 

The FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) will be available on October 1, 2020, at www.fafsa.ed.gov.  Both student and parent will need an FSA ID if you do not have one.  To apply for the FSA ID, go to www.fsaid.ed.gov.

 

 

September “To Do” List

Seniors ... complete these college planning tasks during September:

__ Apply to your top college choices.

__ Create an FSA ID for you and one for a parent at fsaid.ed.gov.

__ Set up college visits where you are interested in attending 

__ attend the EducationQuest Virtual College Fair Sept. 27-30 (link will be emailed to you)

 

 

Stop in the Counseling Office if you have any questions.  You can also email your counselor.