Early Childhood - Special Education

The South Sioux City Community Schools Early Childhood Special Education program serves eligible children who reside in the district, ages birth to five years of age. Service delivery models incorporate:

  • coaching and evidenced-based researched models in the home-based program (ages birth to three years)
  • community based centers within district boundaries
  • school based Early Childhood services based at EN Swett Elementary

Related services available to students who may be eligible include:

  • speech-language
  • physical therapy
  • occupational therapy
  • vision/mobility services
  • deaf and hard of hearing services 

Click here for a Brochure with Early Childhood Information

For additional information or to make a referral, please contact:

Bertha L. Tostado
Early Childhood Special Education Secretary
Phone:  (402) 412-2884 Email: bertha.tostado@ssccards.org

Early Childhood Team Members:

Laura Throener
Speech-Language Pathologist
Phone:  (402) 412-2884 Email: laura.throener@ssccards.org

Kristine Kleve
Physical Therapist
Phone:  (402) 412-2884 Email: kristine.kleve@ssccards.org

Chris Harder
Occupational Therapist
Phone:  (402) 412-2884 Email: chris.harder@ssccards.org

Beverlin Sahagun
Birth to Age Three Service Coordinator
Phone:  (402) 412-2884 Email: beverlin.sahagun@ssccards.org 

Megan Pratt

Early Childhood Special Educator
Phone: (402) 412-2884  Email: megan.pratt@ssccards.org